Conversation

alzheirmer's picture

“What’s the name of that lady?”

“What lady?”

“The one with the horse farm?”

“Linda?”

“NO!”

“The one across from the old house?”

“NO!”

“The one from Senator Bell farm?”

“NO!”

She’s exasperated and I want to help and I am so tempted to just say, “I know who you mean.” But then if there’s a follow up question about the lady will I know the answer?  Will she know if I make it up?  What if she does and it makes it worse?  What do I do! These conversations are frequent and frustrating… and other F words come to mind.

Finally, she is able to grab onto the name and spit it out.  “Beth!  Beth is the one I mean.”

“Okay, yes.”  Beth doesn’t own a horse farm, but that isn’t really the point, is it. “I know Beth.”

Long pause.  Giant sigh.  “What was I going to say about Beth?” she asks.

I hate Alzheimer’s.

2 thoughts on “Conversation

  1. I hate altzhimers too!!!😡 I pray God’s grace and wisdom for you in all the hats you wear and all the different actions you are called upon to answer. 🙏

Leave a Reply

